Take Our Poll: Are Author Tours a Thing of the Past?

I’ve been reading a lot lately about disappointed authors who imagined going on tours to promote their books only to find out there was no money allocated for a tour in their publisher’s budget. Many of them have taken the initiative and found a way to do tours on their own. It makes me wonder if author tours have become obsolete.

I am not entirely convinced they have. I love meeting authors and I have very good memories of meeting my favorites while they were on tour.  Meeting an author, and assuming they are cool, builds the relationship between reader and writer, which is a key part of marketing and sales.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

